How to close an account on facebook

how to close an account on facebook

Delete Facebook: How To Delete Your Account On A Browser Or iPhone

Sections of this page. Accessibility Help. Press alt + / to open this menu alt + / to open this menu. 18 hours ago But note: Facebook will encourage you to do this rather than delete, and this does not delete your account or data from Facebook. On the other hand, its .

Facebook has suffered from a series of data leaks and breaches, on top of multiple privacy scandals. No one could blame you if you have had enough of Facebook. The company has been caught not looking accouny user data, it has been hacked multiple times, and involved in privacy scandals.

Deleting Facebook using your browser is easy. Facebook has actually published a handy guide detailing how you can get your data before deleting your account. If you are a little hesitant but how to get over claustrophobia naturally to try life without Facebook, you can of course, temporarily deactivate your account.

But note: Facebook will encourage you to do this faceboook than delete, and this does not delete your account or data from Facebook. If you do choose to deactivate, and find life without Facebook is as you suspected better, you can then go back and delete your account when you are ready. With a focus on smartphone security including Apple iOS security and privacy, application security, cyberwarfare and data misuse by the big tech firms, Kate reports and analyzes breaking cybersecurity and privacy stories and trending topics.

Kate can be reached at kate. This is a BETA experience. You may opt-out by clicking here. Apr 17,am EDT. Apr 15,pm EDT. Apr 15,am EDT. Apr 14,facbeook EDT. Edit Story. Kate O'Flaherty Senior Faceboom. Kate O'Flaherty. Yo Less.

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account

You can deactivate your Facebook account temporarily and choose to come back whenever you want. Feb 11, Fire up a browser and head to your Facebook Settings page. Click Your Facebook Information and then select the Deactivation and Deletion option from the list of settings available. Tick the box next to Permanently Delete Account and then click Continue to Account Deletion when youre ready to proceed. 1 day ago And voila, you have now learned how to delete your Facebook account via the website and Android and iOS apps. Delete Facebook Account in Easy Steps. The above steps will initiate the account deletion process, but your profile will not be removed from the platform instantly. You can cancel your request to delete the Facebook account within 30 days.

Whatever your reason is for deleting your Facebook account, accomplishing the task is a bit easier said than done. Facebook has become so ingrained in our culture, that the prospect of deleting your account can be daunting. Before deleting your account, you should remember that many apps operate by logging into your Facebook account. It's important to make sure to sever all those external connections with Facebook, so nothing crashes unexpectedly once your account is gone.

Oftentimes, this will mean creating new accounts within your apps. Last, you'll likely want to archive all of your photos, videos, and exchanges since you won't be able to access those once your account is gone. Luckily, Facebook will give you a chance to do this before you delete. Once you've made sure you're prepared for a life without Facebook, here's how to delete your Facebook account using your browser or the mobile app. This is likely your best option since it best allows you to combine the data download process and the actual deletion.

But for those who have already downloaded their data, it's on par with the mobile experience. Here's how to get it done through your browser:. On the next screen, you'll be given two options. You can either "Deactivate" your account, which will hide your profile from everyone except for you, but allow you to keep using Facebook Messenger; or your can "Permanently Delete" your account, which deletes everything.

On the next page, you'll be asked if you want to keep using Messenger if so, you can't delete your account and if you want to download your Facebook information.

This information includes all of your photos and posts. Once you delete your account, it'll take up to 90 days for Facebook to fully erase your data.

And if you log in within 30 days, you can restore your account. Deleting your Facebook account through the mobile app is similar to the browser experience.

Although you'll be given the option to download all of your data here, it's a better idea to do that on a computer, especially if there's a lot to download. With that in mind, here's how to get to all the right screens:. Again, the full deletion of your account can take up 90 days, and you have 30 days from initiating it to cancel the deletion.

Omaha mall shooting: One killed, another wounded. Replay Video. Skip Ad. Load Error. Read the original article on Business Insider. Microsoft and partners may be compensated if you purchase something through recommended links in this article. Found the story interesting?

Like us on Facebook to see similar stories. I'm already a fan, don't show this again. Send MSN Feedback.

How can we improve? Please give an overall site rating:. Privacy Statement. Opens in a new window Opens an external site Opens an external site in a new window.

3 Comments:

  1. Was never really inspired to to try webdev till I came across your channel. Thanks a lot.

Add a comment

Your email will not be published. Required fields are marked *